The RS800 Crews' Union Challenge Coin

Any crew who finishes in the top 6 at the UK National Championships is automatically a member of the RS800 Crews' Union.

This is in recognition of the enormous contribution, physical and emotional, that the often under-appreciated crew makes to the overall performance of the RS800. Crews do all the hard work, ashore and afloat, while the helms enjoy all the glory. Although this is unlikely to change, at least now the crews can enjoy the solidarity of their own private (drinking) club to console themselves.

Each and every "top 6" crew, since records began in 2001, is automatically eligible for membership and to claim their Challenge Coin. See the roll of honour below.

The idea of the Challenge Coin comes from the military, where the coin bears an organisation's insignia or emblem and is carried by the organisation's members. Traditionally, they are given to prove membership when challenged and to enhance morale. In practice, challenge coins are normally presented by unit commanders in recognition of special achievement by a member of the unit (in this case a top 6 UK National Championship result).



The Challenge!

The tradition of a challenge is the most common way to ensure that members are carrying their unit's coin. The challenge, which can be made at any time, begins with the challenger drawing his/her coin, and slapping or placing the coin on the table or bar. In noisy environments, continuously rapping the challenge coin on a surface may initiate the challenge. Everyone being challenged must immediately produce the coin for their organisation and anyone failing to do so must buy a round of drinks for the challenger and everyone else who has their challenge coin. However, should everyone challenged be able to produce their coin, the challenger must buy a round of drinks for the group!

The Roll of Honour

Adam Broughton	James Stewart
Alan Sign	Jamie Stewart
Ali Hall	Jane Olive
Allyson Jeffries	Jim Beam
Amy Cartwright	John Mather
Anna Burnet	Jony Clegg
Andrew Brown	Mark Hogan
Ben McGrane	Martin Gotrel
Billy Vennis-Ozanne	Nichola Groves
Callum Healey	Nikki Griffin
Caroline Litchfield	Olivier Vidal
Chris Feibusch	Ollie Page
Chris Martin	Orwin Murray
Christian Humphrey	Paul Davies
Christian King	Penny Clark
Claire Lasko	Pete Lindley
Colin Hatton	Peter Jenkins
Craig Davies	Phil Lasko
Dan Allin	Philip Goodwin
Dave Steed	Richard Kent
Eddie Grayson	Rob Partridge
Emma Deal	Roz Allen/McGrane
Emma McEwen	Ryan Visser
Emma White	Sam Littlejohn
Fiona Hampshire	Sarah Marriott
Fiona Sayce	Steph Orton
George Kingsnorth	Steve Hall
Guy Fillmore	Stuart Aston
Hannah Tattersall/Shone	Tim Hirst
Harvey Hillary	Toby Wincer
lan Gotts	Will Crocker
James Hughes	

Please contact RS800 Class Association Secretary Clare Sargent with any queries on clare@rs-assocation.com