The RS800 Crews' Union Challenge Coin

Any crew who finishes in the top 6 at the UK National Championships is automatically a member of the RS800 Crews' Union.

This is in recognition of the enormous contribution, physical and emotional, that the often under-appreciated crew makes to the overall performance of the RS800. Crews do all the hard work, ashore and afloat, while the helms enjoy all the glory. Although this is unlikely to change, at least now the crews can enjoy the solidarity of their own private (drinking) club to console themselves.

Each and every "top 6" crew, since records began in 2001, is automatically eligible for membership and to claim their Challenge Coin. See the roll of honour below.

The idea of the Challenge Coin comes from the military, where the coin bears an organisation's insignia or emblem and is carried by the organisation's members. Traditionally, they are given to prove membership when challenged and to enhance morale. In practice, challenge coins are normally presented by unit commanders in recognition of special achievement by a member of the unit (in this case a top 6 UK National Championship result).



The Challenge!

The tradition of a challenge is the most common way to ensure that members are carrying their unit's coin. The challenge, which can be made at any time, begins with the challenger drawing his/her coin, and slapping or placing the coin on the table or bar. In noisy environments, continuously rapping the challenge coin on a surface may initiate the challenge. Everyone being challenged must immediately produce the coin for their organisation and anyone failing to do so must buy a round of drinks for the challenger and everyone else who has their challenge coin. However, should everyone challenged be able to produce their coin, the challenger must buy a round of drinks for the group!

The Roll of Honour

Adam Broughton	James Stewart	Dicken McLean
Alan Sign	Jamie Stewart	Darrol Moss
Ali Hall	Jane Olive	Chloe le Roux
Allyson Jeffries	Jim Beam	Hugh Shone
Amy Cartwright	John Mather	James Hall
Anna Burnet	Jony Clegg	
Andrew Brown	Mark Hogan	
Ben McGrane	Martin Gotrel	
Billy Vennis-Ozanne	Nichola Groves	
Callum Healey	Nikki Griffin	
Caroline Litchfield	Olivier Vidal	
Chris Feibusch	Ollie Page	
Chris Martin	Orwin Murray	
Christian Humphrey	Paul Davies	
Christian King	Penny Clark	
Claire Lasko	Pete Lindley	
Colin Hatton	Peter Jenkins	
Craig Davies	Phil Lasko	
Dan Allin	Philip Goodwin	
Dave Steed	Richard Kent	
Eddie Grayson	Rob Partridge	
Emma Deal	Roz Allen/McGrane	
Emma McEwen	Ryan Visser	
Emma White	Sam Littlejohn	
Fiona Hampshire	Sarah Marriott	
Fiona Sayce	Steph Orton	
George Kingsnorth	Steve Hall	
Guy Fillmore	Stuart Aston	
Hannah Tattersall/Shone	Tim Hirst	
Harvey Hillary	Toby Wincer	
Ian Gotts	Will Crocker	
James Hughes	Tom Partington	
	·	

(version 11 as at 25 Sept 2023)

Please contact RS800 Class Association Secretary Clare Sargent with any queries on clare@rs-assocation.com